Newsletter 20150823 The truth about living in America with a lower middle class family Part three – As a Pre School kid

Posted: 2015/08/23 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

 

“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have…”

marley

 

 

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“  The truth about living in America with a lower middle class family Part three – As a Pre School kid “

By Ronald L. Riedell

 “Quote of the week”

Change in Posting Day:

This is a note to let everyone know that the posting day for this blog will be on Sunday nights once a week.  God willing I hope to be consistent but with that said, I know myself and will do the best I can to post interesting and entertaining content consistently once a week so you can read it on Mondays…

 

Story one

 

The truth about living in America with a lower middle class family Part three – As a Pre School kid

 

The story continues with me as a preschool kid.  Hawthorne, California in the 1950’s was a hub for post World War ll veterans and their families.  My family lived in Hawthorne, California because the jobs were within aerospace and only less than thirty minutes away.  The cost of housing was affordable.  My cousin lived within walking distance, and my grandparents lived across the street.

I never knew I was poor because I had no idea what being poor was.  I learned to compromise and be satisfied with what I had, which was not much. All my clothes were what were then called “Hand me downs”. They came in boxes from people my parents knew.  I never knew other people had worn them, but they were new to me.  Sometimes there were even toys and stuffed animals in the box; it was like Christmas when a box of clothes would come to our house, gifts from people I did not know.

My cousin always had new toys, new clothes, and new shoes.  I was learning envy and desire because my toys were always old and worn out, while his were always new.foot stool

I will never forget my first pair of new shoes.  My whole family went to the shoe store. It smelled like leather in the store.  I wanted a pair of Converse high tops like my cousin.  The salesman, who was dressed in a suit

brought a stool with a slanted side and a foot-measuring device.  I was told to take off one shoe so he could measure my foot.

il_fullxfull.452834081_qe2v

I was so excited about getting a new pair of shoes, until I found out I was getting the low top shoes that were on sale.  Even worse, they were blue canvas.  The salesman told me they were just like the Converse, but I knew better.  What I remember most was the way the new shoes felt; they felt like I was walking on air.  The shoes seemed to spring me forward as I took a step.

convers

I soon forgot about the Converse high tops and was happy to have a new pair of shoes.  I learned a life lesson that day. It is called compromise, an agreement, or a settlement that is reached by making concessions.  I would have never gotten a new pair of new shoes had I insisted on the Converse high tops shoes which were three times as much. “A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.” Why was it that my cousin has nice things a room of his own and I ended up with used toys and hand me down clothes, even my first bicycle was used with two flat ties.

Compromise is a form of mitigation or negotiation, a skill that has provided a living for me and has served me well raising a family myself. I learned this lesson in spite of myself. God works in mysterious ways, and everything that happened is for a reason.

Guess what Brother Ron finally got a pair of Converse High Tops and they really are not much better then the old blue canvas low top off brands.p1030066

Next week is “The truth about living in America with a lower middle class family Part four – As a School Age kid” you will find out how heart surgery robbed me of an education.  How not so well intending teachers and the school system traumatized me and failed me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

 

So possessions arouse feelings of jealousy against their owners, cut off their owners from men better than

themselves, divide families, and make friends hate one another. Possessions, moreover, have no place in the life to

come, and even in this present life have no great use. Why, then, do we abandon the service of God and devote

ourselves entirely to empty trivialities? For it is God who supplies us with all that we need. Human efforts inevitably

fail unless God helps us; while God in His providence bestows every blessing without man’s assistance. What

benefits were gained from their efforts by those to whom God said: ‘You sowed much and gathered little, and I blew

it away out of your hands’ (cf. Hag. 1:9)? And what did the righteous lack, though they gave no thought at all for

their needs? Were not the Israelites fed in the desert for forty years, without cultivating the land? They always had

enough to eat, for in a strange and miraculous way quails came in from the sea and manna fell from the sky (cf.

Exod. 16), and a dry rock, when struck, gushed water (cf. Exod. 17:6); and throughout the whole forty years their clothes and shoes never wore out (cf. Deut. 8:4). What land was tilled beside the brook Kerith where

Elijah hid? Did not the ravens bring him food (cf. 1 Kgs. 17:6)A nd when he came to Sarepta, did not the widow,

despite her desperate need, give him bread, snatching it from the mouth other own children (cf. 1 Kgs. 17:10-16)

All this shows that we should seek holiness, not clothing, food and drink.

St Neilos The Ascetic

Ascetic Discourse

Brother Rons Stuff

Brother Ron (1953–Present) is a self-taught, American surfer, artiest, author, teacher, and philosopher.

 

 

 “The Nephilim were on the earth in those days, and also afterward, when the sons of God came in to the daughters of man and they bore children to them. These were the mighty men who were of old, the men of renown.

                                                                                                         Genesis 6:4

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Genesis 6:5

As it was in the days of Noah,  so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. Noah

 

Matthew 24:37

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

