Newsletter 20150816 The truth about living in America with a lower middle class family Part two – As a Toddler

Posted: 2015/08/16 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

 

“ A scientist is not one who gives the answers, a scientist is one who asks the right questions, and seeks the truth .”

benny-computer1-300x210

 

 

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“  The truth about living in America with a lower middle class family Part two – As a Toddler “

By Ronald L. Riedell

 “Quote of the week”

Change in Posting Day:

This is a note to let everyone know that the posting day for this blog will be on Sunday nights once a week.  God willing I hope to be consistent but with that said, I know myself and will do the best I can to post interesting and entertaining content consistently once a week so you can read it on Mondays…

 

Story one

 

The truth about living in America with a lower middle class family Part two – as a Toddler

As an adult trying to looking back from the perspective of a toddler is peculiar to remember. When I was small, everything seemed so big, and difficult to do, but when I revisit those same places as adults, they seem so small.  For example, I remember one of the houses I grew up in, a small two-bedroom house in Gardena California.  My two brothers and I slept in the same 10 x10 room while growing up, the room seemed so big and spacious.

While I was growing up I never knew that my mother had been married before; she was in her second marriage when she married my father; if I count the months it is almost to the day in a full term pregnancy that I was born.  Under ecclesiastical cannon law, that makes me a bastard. Under civil law, I have no inheritance rights to the family estate.  Oh, wait a minute there is no estate.

Growing up in Hawthorne California I was near my grandparents on my mother’s side.  The toys I played with were extension cords and sticks.  I do not remember going hungry, but I do remember not having the things others around me had, like toys and shoes.  When I did have shoes, they were either too big or too small for my feet.

Being the eldest of three brothers, I was usually on my own.  We had no television, so I was on my own to develop my imagination and troubleshooting skills,” out in the field” as the intellectuals might say.

As a toddler I remember being happy. Discovering things about myself and the world around me was exciting and not having a lot of material possessions never bothered me when I was young.

Next week is Part Three – As a Pre School kid, You will not want to miss this one it is when Brother Ron gets a new pair of shoes and learns compromise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

 

When the soul is disturbed by anger, confused by drunkenness, or sunk in deep depression, the intellect

cannot hold fast to the remembrance of God no matter how hard we try to force it. Completely darkened by the

violence of the passions, it loses totally the form of perception which is proper to it. Thus our desire that our intellect

should keep the remembrance of God cannot make any impression, because the recollective faculty of our mind has

been hardened by the rawness of the passions. But, on the other hand, when the soul has attained freedom from these

passions, then, even though the intellect is momentarily deprived by forgetfulness of the object of its longing, it at once resumes its proper activity. The soul now has grace itself to share its meditation and to repeat with it the words

‘Lord Jesus’, just as a mother teaches her child to repeat with her the word father‘, instead of prattling in his usual way, until she has formed in him the habit of calling for his father even in his sleep. This is why the Apostle says:

‘Likewise the Spirit also helps our infirmities; for we do not know what to pray for as we should, but the Spirit

Himself makes intercession for us with cries that cannot be uttered’ (Rom. 8:26). Since we are but children as

regards perfection in the virtue of prayer, we have need of the Spirit’s aid so that all our thoughts may be

concentrated and gladdened by His inexpressible sweetness, and so that with all our being we may aspire to the remembrance and love of our God and Father. For, as St Paul says, it is in the Spirit that we pray when we are taught by Him to cry without ceasing to God the Father, ‘Abba, Father’ (Rom. 8:15).

St Diadochos of Photiki

On Spiritual Knowledge and Discrimination

One Hundred Texts

IMG950777

Brother Ron (1953–Present) is a self-taught, American surfer, artiest, author, teacher, and philosopher.

 

 

 “The Nephilim were on the earth in those days, and also afterward, when the sons of God came in to the daughters of man and they bore children to them. These were the mighty men who were of old, the men of renown.

                                                                                                         Genesis 6:4

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

NoahGenesis 6:5

As it was in the days of Noah,  so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.

 

Matthew 24:37

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

