Newsletter 20150624 My choice is all I have

Posted: 2015/06/25 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

 

“Life is not a continuum of pleasant choices, but of inevitable problems that call for strength, determination, and hard work.”

Hard working labors

        

“God knows that when you eat from it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.”                        Genesis 3:4

 

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“My choice is all I have” By: Ronald L. Riedell

“Quote of the week

 

Story one

My choice is all I have

I was born into the world of time.  Time never remains the same, time changes continually. Where I am from, and why I am here, are questions that cannot be answered by me with certainty.

My parents lived in a geographic area that as a youth I was confined. There was no hope of escape, not even the knowledge that I could escape, or even leave that area.

all religons

It was the circumstances of my surroundings, by no choice of my own that taught me what I was willing to learn by choice.  Again, as I grew older people came into my life through circumstance through no choice of my own.

Influences of proximity persuaded me to believe that certain things were true;  such as, family values, religion, patriotism, ect… The influences of proximity were also instrumental in convincing me to think about my own self image and self-esteem.

I discovered that emotional choices made by me with passion where usually latter regretted by me.

My choices seem to be regulated by the path I am on, and I chose that path. The wider the path, the more confusing it becomes and the choices are endless. The narrower the path, the more direct my choices become.

The closer to the present or the here and now I become, the less choice I have but the simpler my life becomes and the happier and freer I become. I heard a story the other day…

A man entered a monastery to find enlightenment.  He asked the senior monk to teach him how to become enlightened.  The old monk asked him if he had eaten his rice.  The man replied yes.  Then you had better wash your bowl.  At that moment, the man was enlightened.

Wash your bolw

It is not that simple for me, but I have found that the more simplified my life is, the happier I become. The more choices I make free of emotion and imagination the less I regret having made them.

I discovered true happiness is being satisfied with who I am, and being able to share unconditional love with those I have chose to keep in my life.

Unconditional love refers to my state of mind in which I have the goal of increasing the well-being of another, despite any evidence of benefit for myself.

Unconditional love is knowing all about you and keeping you in my life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Quote of the week:

 

The Apostle teaches us the same thing when he tells us to ‘pray without ceasing’ (1 Thess. 5:17), and to

‘pray everywhere, lifting up holy hands without anger and without quarrelling’ (1 Tim. 2:8). We are thus left with

the choice either of never praying, and so of disobeying the Apostle’s commandment, or of trying earnestly to fulfill

his commandment by praying without anger or rancor.

St John Cassian

On the Eight Vices

2015-02-27 17.59.08

Brother Ron (1953–Present) is a self-taught, American surfer, artiest, author, teacher, and philosopher.

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Genesis 6:5

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

