Newsletter 20150603 Who am I

Posted: 2015/06/05 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

 

Today is the tomorrow you worried about yesterday… and now you know why.”

old machine

  

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Question from last week.

Story of the week:

“Who am I” By: Ronald L. Riedell

“Quote of the week

 

Question from last week 20150527

 

 I am not a priest and I do not hold any religious title.  Here is my humble answer to your question:

Question: Can you help me understand part of your recent post?

I wrote to you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people—not at all meaning the sexually immoral of this world, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters, since then you would need to go out of the world.  Now I am writing to you not to associate with anyone who bears the name of brother if he is guilty of sexual immorality or greed, or is an idolater, reviler, drunkard, or swindler—not even to eat with such a one.

In Paul’s letter to the Corinthians (1 Corinthians 5:10), the Apostle Paul was admonishing Christians for their self-righteousness.

“I wrote you in my letter not to associate with immoral people;  I did not at all mean with the immoral people of this world, or with the covetous and swindlers, or with idolaters, for then you would have to go out of the world.  But actually, I wrote to you not to associate with any so-called brother if he is an immoral person, or covetous, or an idolater, or a reviler, or a drunkard, or a swindler– not even to eat with such a one.”

It is my opinion that so many people within the church judge and separate themselves from people outside the church because someone does not meet their expectations.

 I do it myself. 

How will anyone outside the church hear or see the gospel by my example?  If I condemn and send them away because of my preconceived judgments about them, I have become the judge and not the messenger.

Words are never enough and the messenger is usually killed, why should I be any different?

However, if someone professing to know the truth, acts in ways that make void their profession, they are the ones I should admonish and avoid.

 As Paul says,” not to associate with any so-called brother if he is an immoral person, or covetous, or an idolater, or a reviler, or a drunkard, or a swindler– not even to eat with such a one. “

Unfortunately, many people might hold the whole church responsible for my actions and life style.  They will see me as a hypocrite, and as a result hold the whole church accountable.

 

 

Story one

 

 

“Who am I”

 

I am trying to find myself.  Sometimes that’s not easy…”

human-aging-process-male

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you”

Jeremiah 1:5

 

 

Who am I…  When I am in the way of waking up, and finding out whom I really am…  I come to realize I do not know who I am.

who am I 

 

When I look through my eyes into the visible world of life, what I see is the creation from my point of view.

 

In order for me to create anything I must first destroy something, and then reshape it intoInternet_map_1024 something out of my imagination.  I am concluding, in my own mind, that I am not the Creator.

 

I look at a tree for example and what I see is a beautiful object that I could not possibly replicate or produce.  There are so many things that the mature trees provide.  The tree grows to the right height and produces oxygen for me to breathe, fruit for me to eat, wood to burn,and wood to build with.  The tree helps keep me alive with fruit in the right seasons.

 

eveLooking at the tree among so many other wonders in the visible, it is hard for me to imagine there is not something greater than myself that did create the tree.

 

I can also use the tree as a metaphor, with root systems, times and seasons for growth and lifespan.

 

 

When I close my eyes I wander around within myself, It is not hard for me to believe because of my choice and my free will, that I have the capacity to do anything I want. However, when I open my eyes to reality I am forced back to the here and now and realize my limitations.

 

Every day I test myself and experiment with new things; sometimes fail at my attempts.  I realize that I must seek the creator of me and the tree for confidence and reassurance as I suffer the consequences of my attempts.

 

So do I know myself?  Not really, only I know attributes about myself.  I know what makes me happy or sad.  I know what foods to eat.  I know that I am going to die someday.

 

Is it important to know yourself?  Or is it important for me to live everyday in the here and now and keep myself from hardships?

 

There are more things in the world that I don’t know than I do know, or ever will know. There are more places in the world than I can ever visit or have visited.  There are more people in the world than I will ever meet or know.

 

In a weird sense, I do know who I am. I am not you, and I am not the creator.  I am a creation of the creator along with the rest of the world. I also know that it is impossible for me to know about everything.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who Knew?

 

 

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

Quote of the week:

 

 

 

Afflict your flesh with hunger and vigils and apply yourself tirelessly to psalmody and prayer; then theGirl Praying Half tones

sanctifying gift of self-restraint will descend upon you and bring you love.

He who has been granted divine knowledge and has through love acquired its illumination will never be swept hither and thither by the demon of self-esteem.

But he who has not yet been granted such knowledge will readily succumb to this demon. However, if in all that he does he keeps his gaze fixed on God, doing everything for His sake, he will with God’s help soon escape.

He who has not yet attained divine knowledge energized by love is proud of his spiritual progress. But he who has been granted such knowledge repeats with deep conviction the words uttered by the patriarch Abraham

when he was granted the manifestation of God: ‘I am dust and ashes’ (Gen. 18:27).

St Maximos the Confessor

Four Hundred Texts on Love

First Century

2015-02-27 17.59.08

Brother Ron (1953–Present) is a self-taught, American surfer, artiest, author, teacher, and philosopher.

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Genesis 6:5

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

