Newsletter 20150530 6000 Miles

Posted: 2015/05/08 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

 

“All the wonders of the world are within us, yet we remain determined to seek them without.”

“Don’t be so intent upon your own journey that you forget to stop and help others along the way.”

 

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“”6000 Miles” by Ronald L. Riedell

“Quote of the week

Story one

 

“6000 Miles”

 traving man

Me in St. Louis

“Brother Ron or as I like to say dad has been there for me through all times in my life, the good and bad.

He drove 3000 miles in a van that stalled out several times and kept me company not because he had to but because he loves me. Thanks dad I love you too —“.

Written by my son

Every adventure starts with the first step.  My adventure was going to start on an airplane going to Kentucky to be part of my granddaughter’s first communion, about a four-hour trip by plane.

For my non-Catholic friends, a first communion is an important tradition for Catholic families and individuals.

According to Catholic tradition, Jesus Christ instituted communion during his Last Supper or Seder.  Giving his disciples bread and wine during the Passover meal, Jesus commanded his followers to “do this in memory of me” while referring to the bread as “my body” and the wine as “my blood.”

For Catholics, Holy Communion is the third of seven sacraments received; it occurs only after one’s baptism and first confession, the first two sacraments.

FB_IMG_1430751553992

Brother Ron wanted to be there with her, to support her in her personal spiritual journey.

My decision to fly changed when I found out my son was going to drive out there.  I thought it would be a great opportunity to bond with my son and an opportunity for him to get to know me as a friend.

Therefore, we took off in his older model van, remember, what was going to be a four-hour trip, turned into a seven-day adventure.

Sleeping in the van, eating at fast food restaurants, and truck stops was only part of the adventure.

I came to realize that the United States is a vast open land.  My usual mode of travel was by aircraft from one metropolitan area to another which does not give the openness of the land justice because of the short time it takes to fly over the land.

In a motor vehicle, however, you go for hours at 80 MPH without seeing people or civilization.

20150429_164342

It only took three days to get to Kentucky, but there were several mini adventures along the way.  G-d willing next week my son will tell you one.

For the past week, I felt like a true traveler, and enjoyed the time with my son and his children.

20150505_091709 touch up

People along the way were friendly and helpful.  Totally, I traveled well over 6000 miles in a van, a train, and walking.  The train ride home alone was an adventure in itself.  The train was filled with folks who dressed in clothes as though they came out of a time warp, or separate reality, but that is another story.

A few people who worked on the train were rude and unfriendly, and the stations they stopped at looked like something out of an old western movie; ghost towns with most of the concessions either closed or overpriced…

Would I make this trip again?  Heck yeah…  I trusted G-d to get me through, I learned more about who I am, but most importantly, my son got an opportunity to see me as a man and a friend, not as a father.

Jesus walked on earth as a friend.  He and his father, who is G-d are one, and he became a man. That is the good news of the Gospel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

 

A traveler setting out on a long, difficult and arduous journey and foreseeing that he may lose his way when he comes back, will put up signs and guideposts along his path in order to make his return simpler.  The watchful man, foreseeing this same thing, will use sacred texts to guide him.  For the traveler it is a source of joy to return to where he started.

 

 

Evagrios the Solitary

Extracts from the Texts on Watchfulness

2015-02-27 17.59.08

Brother Ron (1953–Present) is a self-taught, American surfer, artiest, author, teacher, and philosopher.

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Genesis 6:5

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

