Newsletter 20150423 Two balls on the beach

Posted: 2015/04/23 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

 The path of duty lies in what is near at hand, but men seek for it in what is remote.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“”Two balls on the beach Written by Ronald L. Riedell

“Quote of the week

Story one

 

“Two balls on the beach”

balls

I am ashamed to say that I thought like a LOCAL today at the beach.IMG950777

 (If an ocean break is near a large population center with many surfers, territorialism often arises.  Regular surfers often guard it jealously, hence the expression “locals only.”  The expression “locals only” is common among beach towns, especially those that are seasonally encroached upon by vacationers.)

As I was walking down to the water I saw a woman who looked like she just got off the public bus down the street, a non-local. She was picking up what looked like seashells from a distance.  My first thought OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAwas why people could not just leave nature alone.

When I got closer, I found she was picking up trash on the beach.  She had a plastic bag in her hand picking up plastic near the seashore.

When she walked by I asked her what she was doing.  She said,” I am picking up plastic trash because it is not biodegradable and it takes away from the beauty of the ocean.  The plastic doesn’t dissolve and eventually there would be so much plastic here no one would like to come here and it won’t go away, so I pick up a little plastic and throw it away every time I come here.  I know it isn’t much but it helps a little.”

How dare I judge anyone besides myself?  How can I know anyones intent besides my own?  I am the wayward criminal who needs an advocate for salvation.

I myself am guilty of picking up shells to paint on.

EXHIBIT A: Shell with a drawing 1-7-15

mermaid

No one knows a thief better than another thief. No one knows someone with a nasty mind more than one with a nasty mind.

I was able to correct myself and my thoughts before I condemned an innocent person. Although I didn’t ask the lady for forgiveness, I was deeply ashamed of my perception and assessment of the situation.

G-d willing this was an angel in disguise who was strategically place in my path to teach me a lesson on judgments and humble me for my own lack of service to my fellow humans.

Moreover, if I myself pick up a little bit and everybody picks up a little bit, eventually the problem of unsightly beaches might go away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

 

Do not become a disciple of one who praises himself, in case you learn pride instead of humility.

 

Evagrios the Solitary

Extracts from the Texts on Watchfulness

2015-02-27 17.59.08

Brother Ron (1953–Present) is a self-taught, American surfer, artiest, author, teacher, and philosopher.

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Genesis 6:5

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

