Newsletter 20150414 Seeking the open door

Posted: 2015/04/17 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

 

The door turns on its hinges— as does the lazy person on his bed.

BR Door

 

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“”Seeking the open door “Written by Ronald L. Riedell

“Quote of the week

Story one

 

“Seeking the open door”

A door is a powerful spiritual symbol because it implies the unknown, that is, depending on what side of the door I’m on, my perspective is different and requires me to act.  Open it, close it, or walk through it.

The door restricts access by closing off an entrance to a space.

The door size is also a barrier to entrance, which limits what is able to get through it and then becomes a line of defense for the occupants.

The door, G-d himself closed used in the story of Noah when the door of the Ark. Sparing Noah the guilt of the ones who perished during the flood.

The door,  used in the Passover story was also as a symbol.  The doorpost had the blood of the lamb crossed on them, insuring the safety of the first-born child within the doors boundaries.

An open door implies a change where access is granted without resistance.

When I think of an open door, I consider a mousetrap.  Curiosity and unrestricted access lures the unsuspecting rodent into a box through an open door and poison awaits its consumption.  Once through the door, the intent is to prevent the rodent from exiting alive.

mouse

My spiritual well being relies on doors that I enter into by choice.  As my little furry friends found out in the case of the mousetrap, not all doors should be entered into, or if entered into, go in with caution.

I have heard that when one door is closed, another will open. I am not sure about this, because it is also said, “I stand at the door and knock.”

I have personally walked through open doors and have paid a price for my laziness.  Not all open doors are best for me.  I have taken jobs in the past because the door was open, only later to find out that I was unsuited for the job.

The closed door with the knock is someone seeking me, coming to me.

By me chasing around looking for an open door, I risk being sucked in through curiosity and imagination into a dark space with no exit or way out.

I can read, but I have little understanding of the advertising industry.  So by misrepresentation and fraud I get myself sucked into the void of illusion.

Most people who advertise spiritual benefits need to pay for those ads and petition money from them due to their reliance on others money for their lifestyles.

dollar

One time I took a dollar bill threw it into the air and asked G-d to take all he wants and give me the rest.  Guess what?  G-d did not even take ten percent.

Do I seek the open door, the path of least resistance, or do I knock on doors that are better left closed.

My spiritual journey is not over by any stretch of the imagination.  I have answered the knock at my door.  It was the Messiah; I have invited him to stay with me.

Doors to paridise

However, like any friendship or relationship, there are good days and bad. One thing I know for sure is that I am not alone, even when my external world is not going the way I would like.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

 

There are three degrees of eating: self-control, sufficiency, and satiety.  Self-control is to be hungry after having eaten.  Sufficiency is to be neither hungry nor weighed down.  Satiety is to be slightly weighed down.  To eat again after reaching the point of satiety is to open the door of gluttony, through which unchastity comes in.

 

Evagrios the Solitary

Extracts from the Texts on Watchfulness

2015-02-27 17.59.08

Brother Ron (1953–Present) is a self-taught, American surfer, artiest, author, teacher, and philosopher.

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Genesis 6:5

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

