Newsletter 20150408 I stand at the door and knock

Posted: 2015/04/09 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

 

Ma ka hana ka ‘ike.

(Knowledge is gained by doing..)

hawaii

 

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“”I stand at the door and knock” Written by Ronald L. Riedell

“Quote of the week

Story one

 

“I stand at the door and knock”

The persecution of Christians is a theme that ran through most of the Pope’s speeches this weekend.  At a Good Friday procession, he decried the world’s “complicit silence” while members of his faith are killed.  On Sunday, he devoted his Easter address to a grim accounting of global conflicts where Christians and others have been killed.  His speech referenced the attack on Garissa University College in eastern Kenya last week, in which al-Shabab militants killed at least 148 people, reportedly singling out non-Muslims.  His speech also referred to “absurd bloodshed” and “barbarous acts of violence” in Libya, where 21 Egyptian Christians were beheaded by the Islamic State in February.

What do I know about Christian persecution?  Nothing…. I live in the most powerful and wealthiest, so call Judeo Christian, nation on earth.

Some are prevented from praying at public schools or are not able to place a cross in a public space and they consider it Christian persecution and a violation of their civil rights.

I spent more money on the bumper sticker on my car, than most of the world’s seven billion people spend on a day’s food supply, just to show my neighbors,whom I seldom talk to, that I am a Christian.

Why,  do I want to concern myself with remote parts of the world where mummers of deadly persecution exist?  Should I be afraid for my own safety? Do I question my own faith?  Can I do anything about what is going on?

All the romanticized notions of history come to the surface as fanatics, the socially influenced, and the misinformed call us all to arms.

The whole world is being led down a path of no return by images of man’s inhumanity to man.  I do not understand the reasons behind the madness.  What I do realize; however, is that whatever is being orchestrated is outside my control.

At best, all I can control is myself.  I look to the love of G-d for my next breath.Itry to forgive myself. I seek the truth and share it with others as they share their truth with me.

The Apostle Paul said, “To live is Christ, to die is gain.”  Never forget Christ is not dead.  If he is, you might want to consider changing your beliefs.  Christ Is Risen, Truly he is Risen.”  When I opened the door as I heard the knock, G-d entered in. I shut the door and have never regretted it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

 There are three chief groups of demons opposing us, and after them follows the whole army of the enemy. These three groups fight in the front line, and with impure thoughts seduce our souls into wrongdoing. They are the demons set over the appetites of gluttony, those who suggest to us avaricious thoughts, and those who incite us to seek esteem in the eyes of men. If you long for pure prayer keep guard over your incentive power; and if you desire self-restraint, control your belly, and do not take your fill even of bread and water.  Be vigilant in prayer and avoid all rancor.  Let the teachings of the Holy Spirit be always with you; and use the virtues as your hands to knock at the doors of Scripture.  Then dispassion of heart will arise within you, and during prayer, you will see your intellect shine like a star.

 

Evagrios the Solitary

Extracts from the Texts on Watchfulness

2015-02-27 17.59.08

Brother Ron (1953–Present) is a self-taught, American surfer, artiest, author, teacher, and philosopher.

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Genesis 6:5

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

