Newsletter 20150304 Nourish the Root not the Fruit

Posted: 2015/03/05 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

“Nourish the root not the fruit”

sadhgrou

Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev

 

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“”Slamming the Door Shut”  Written by Ronald L. Riedell

“Quote of the week

Story one

 

“Slamming the Door Shut”

 As Noah and his family entered the Ark, the door to the Ark was shut by G-d. Noah did not close the door.

Noah

For forty days and forty nights, as the Genesis account of the flood goes, Noah and his family waited for the storm to pass. While G-d destroyed all life on earth, Noah and his family were tucked away inside of the Ark. G-d  himself saved them, along with the animals they gathered and the Ark itself.

I am not sure if I would have been on Noah’s boat?

Lent a 40 day period of  fasting and prayer. A symbol of my love for G-d. When I fast, it is one of my efforts to understand fasting and my attempt to purge myself of things that divert my attention from seeking G-d.

How can I say I love G-d, who I can’t see, when I don’t love the ones around me who I can see?  Brother Ron confesses that he does not love everyone. I cannot pretend to love others or even G-d until I learn to love myself. When I break my fast to go to events in Las Vegas, drink beer, and eat anything I want, while others are fasting makes me a hypocrite and I prove to myself that I am too weak to follow simple guidelines that were put in place to help me.

20150302_125912

I did run into the devil or a demon in disguise at the event in Las Vegas.  She was about twenty-seven years old, beautiful, and looking me right in the eye about three inches away, knocking at the window of my soul.  She was trying to sell me a solar battery, with which I could charge my cell phone.

At my age, let us just say in my sixties, the incident might have been fatal and my soul lost to my own desires.  I was in public, so I was reasonably safe except for the thoughts running through my own dirty mind.  I found myself being sucked into the web of delusion. The only thing that saved me was looking over at the boxes of other chargers and my knowledge of sales techniques. All I did was close my eyes and the spell was broken. I went back to reality, a man at a trade show looking for ideas.

I found a good story after that situation . I will save it for the Quote for the week below.

Nothing happens without a reason and I was tempted by my own desire, by me Slamming the Door (or Windows) shut I was able to avert disaster and learn a valuable lesson: G-d is good for his word, I was tempted by my own desire but G-d always gives me a way to escape.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

There was a beautiful young woman who went to bed late one night and fell right to sleep… As she was sleeping she heard a noise… When she looked over to the window in her room, she saw a large dark figure coming through it… The closer the figure got the more it looked like a large, strong young man. As the man got closer to her she became frightened… She noticed the man had handsome strong facial features as he came onto the bed…  When he got close enough for her to feel his breath…  She asked him, “What are you going to do to me?”… He replied how should I know it’s  your dream.

And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

Genesis 6:5

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Comments
  1. Noah planted a Vinyard after the flood. The boat might have been disassembled for sticks to grow grape vines . Plus the climate for growing grapes is generally one in which winters are fairly mild. Long, deep and frigid winters are generally unsuited for growing grapes. Similarly, very moist and humid conditions aren’t conducive to grape growing either.

    Where is Noah’s Ark? If I was Noah the wood would have been used for construction projects and shelter divided up among the family.

    • Good Question… Climates do change over thousands of years, healthy grapes need soil with a PH of 7, which would not be hard to find at that time due to the saturation of water in the soil.

      However it is my guess that those sticks used to build the trellis.. The pitch might have preserved them to this day. I would also guess that those sticks had a superstitious value as well and might have ended up carved into amulets. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

