Newsletter 20150206 Nonfoolabillity

Posted: 2015/02/09 in Uncategorized

Proverb of the week:

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.”

Mahatma Gandhi

Mahatma Gandhi as Barrister in Durban post cardimages

Contents this week

Proverb of the week:

Story of the week:

“Nonfoolability”  Written by Ronald L. Riedell

“Quote of the week

Story one

“Nonfoolability”

If you think that Pope Francis is not going to change anything, you are wrong.

Pope_Francis_Korea_Haemi_Castle_19_(cropped)

It is first necessary to explain exactly what infallibility of the Pope is not.

Infallibility is not the absence of sin.  Nor is it a divine gift that belongs only to the pope.  Infallibility belongs to the body of bishops as a whole, when in doctrinal unity with the Pope becomes infallible.

We have this from Jesus himself, who promised the apostles and their successors the bishops, the teaching authority of the Church: “He who hears you hears me,” and “Whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven”

Pope Francis is in modern times, depending on your point of view, is a harmless old man, with the heart of a child, and the power of an absolute king, or a wolf in sheep’s clothing.

Pope Francis is a man worthy of respect and admiration because of his office.

Pope_Franciscus_&_Patriarch_Bartholomew_I_in_the_Church_of_the_Holy_Sepulchre_in_Jerusalem_(1)

Why am I writing about one of the most powerful men on earth?  I am writing about him because of the lack of respect people within and outside the church are giving him.

If outsiders AKA non-Christians or heterodox were mumbling about him that would be understandable.  However, when the communities of believers ravel against him or disagree with a decision he has made, I cannot sit back idly as they undermine his authority and say nothing in his defense.  Christians, who do not have any idea what the Pope represents, make outrageous claims that he is somehow tied to the “evil one”, or because of his past we cannot trust him.

Anyone who wants to do the research can find something to undermine anyone, including me.

I live in a time and a world that has grown so small that what I ate for dinner last night is public information, and where my safety is in jeopardy everyday by one risk or another.

The Pope is part of me; he is my brother, and there is too much evil going on outside the Church to condemn a religious leader for acts sometimes outside his control.  I would be doing the same thing as Pope Francis, making the same decisions based on what I know about the world.

VATICAN-POPE-US-OBAMA

As Paul stated to the Jews,” I became as a Jew, so that I might win Jews; to those who are under the Law, as under the Law though not being myself under the Law, so that I might win those who are under the Law; To them that are without law, as without law, that I might gain them that are without law. “

I must never question the intent of another man’s motives unless they are criminal.  May G-d bless the Pope and all other religious leaders who help make my journey here a little more tolerable. May they someday come together and become one as G-d is one .

I have brothers and know firsthand that we do not always see eye to eye.  May G-d forgive me, as I am the biggest hypocrite of all men; expecting others to change and do what I am incapable of doing myself.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

 

‘Take heed that you do not give alms in front of others, to be seen by them; for unless you take heed,

you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.’ Again, He says: ‘When you pray, you must not be as the

hypocrites are: for they love to pray standing in synagogues and at street-corners, so as to be seen by men. Truly I

say to you, they get the reward they want. . . . Moreover when you fast, do not put on a gloomy face, like the

hypocrites;

St Isaiah the Solitary

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

