Newsletter 12/16/2014 “ Who told you that you were naked”

Posted: 2014/12/17 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week

Adam

Proverb of the week:

He who is covered with other people’s clothes is naked

Contents this week

Picture of the week
Proverb of the week
Story of the week: “ Who told you that you were naked” : Written by Ronald L. Riedell
Quote of the week

Story one

“Who Told You That You Were Naked”

“I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.” “Who told you that you were naked?

Adam

Today we don’t hide, we fall asleep, in a self induced sleep.

Wake up my friends, the game is over. The words on the internet are not free, poets and prophets are cursed with poverty as they proclaim their truth in cyber space, while their intended audience sleeps in a self-induced sleep with deaf ears.

As poets say: age creeps in without warning and people find themselves with no family, no friends, and no lovers. The only thing left is independence and when the money is gone, that too goes.

Most do not realize the price of being asleep until they are 40 or 50 years old. When they wake up from a self-induced sleep they found in Junior High school or college, they wrongly believe the lie that there is no G-d and that they are the masters of their life, only to realize later in life that the world is a small place and there is something bigger than themselves out there.

Never really living life in reality, because they were deceived into believing a lie, they are now faced with no family and their parents and friends dying and there wondering what life is all about, wondering why they feel so alone.

If this sounds negative and bleak, it is. The time bandit, which is a self induced sleep brought on by my being too busy to stop what I am doing, to be silent and realize the presence of G-d is here and now, the time bandit has also robbed me of part of my life; fortunately, for me, I woke up a long time ago in Vietnam. But, there are others my age just now waking up, trying to find the life they lost.

Viet nam 1972-c

“Who told you you were naked? “ Why are you afraid?

Why is it I feel uncomfortable naked in front of others? Who told me I was naked?

Brother Ron believes it is the same voice that told me I was destroying my body, when I felt pain the same voice that told me I was doing good when I did good things to other, by making me feel good after I did it. It is the voice of my conscience setting me on the true path.

Nature cries out to me everyday when I see the ocean, the snow covered mountains, and a baby crying. There is something bigger than myself. I am not the creator because I did not create me.

1942 Hawaii P9z6

I can easily condition myself to become naked by becoming callous to myself and in front of others, but the voice of conscience always seems to come back as I sense something is wrong about being naked.
I am not a saint or a spiritual guide. I am a man who has lived 61 years in this place we call earth, sober, and have experienced more than most only read about. I seek G-d and the truth.

When I see people waking up from a self-induced sleep I feel for them because I know how long the path is and how discouraging it can be when you fall off the path.

The parable of the ten virgins warned me to become spiritually ready for a life of seeking. Not just sitting at home, but going out to search for the truth with plenty of light and extra oil for my lamp. The extra oil is for the journey because it may be longer that I expect.

women _ten_virgins

Sadly, my oil is not enough for everyone, not even enough for the ones I LOVE THE MOST.

My journey will be soon over at an hour I am unaware. I am writing this blog for my kids and grandkids to give them some of my thoughts. It is your faith that will unite you with the love of G-d not mine.
Please forgive my ignorance and lack of knowing the truth; it is only my journey and what I have come to believe.

Quote of the week:

If your heart comes to feel a natural hatred for sin, it has defeated the causes of sin and freed itself from them.
Keep hell’s torments in mind; but know that your Helper is at hand. Do nothing that will grieve Him, but say to
Him with tears: ‘Be merciful and deliver me, 0 Lord, for without Thy help I cannot escape from the hands of
my enemies.’ Be attentive to your heart, and He will guard you from all evil.

St Isaiah the Solitary
On Guarding the Intellect

BR Voive of an Outsider Newslettr

Leave a Reply

