Newsletter 11/25/2014 Mass Organization

Posted: 2014/11/26 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Voice of a outsider

Contents
1.  Mass Organization : Written by Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week
Quote of the week

Story one

Mass Organization
In my opinion, the liturgy or mass, and the order in which it is said, gives the Catholic and Orthodox Church a unique, timeless portrayal of the eternal existence of G-d.

250px-Phatdiemk-77

catholics_outside_vietnam_church_250px

My friend and teacher Hanh Do Nugyen went to be with G-d. Hanh Do was Vietnamese and a Catholic.

Hanh Do was one of the few men that Brother Ron truly respected as a warrior and human being.  Hanh Do was a Colonel in the Vietnamese Army as a paratrooper when he was younger, he was also my Aikido instructor in Orange County.

When he said something, it was true; and when I tried what he said, it worked.

With deep penetrating eyes, he was a man of few words, and unpretentious.  When I first was introduced to Hanh Do he was 65 years old. On the mat he was like the wind. He moved as fast as a twenty year old but with precision and intent. I smiled and knew I had stumbled across a master.

Although he spoke little and smiled a lot I got to know Hanh Do personally at breakfast after aikido class in discussions about everything from religion to everyday life.

I was recently invited to his memorial service which is much like a funeral. A memorial service celebrates the life of the deceased. I was in the minority being a non-Vietnamese, but being a friend of Hanh Do I felt at home.

The Christian Catholic Mass was chanted in Vietnamese by the priest, but the order was the same as any other mass, so it was easy to follow along.

Hanh Do was respected by his family and friends, but what really got to me at the memorial service was the way the men who served with him in Vietnam respected him.

There was not one tear in the eye of those men, but I saw the admiration and respect those men had for him and his family. They saluted the picture of him as they walked by to greet the family.

I came to realize that we were all one Christian family as the language barrier seemed to melt away with the order of the mass because I knew what to expect and although I don’t speak Vietnamese, Hallelujah is universal for “ Praise the Lord.”

The missionaries that were martyred,

220px-Martyrs_of_Vietnam220px-Vietnam_martyrs_Paul_Mi_Pierre_Duong_Pierre_Truat_18_December_1838

Vietnamese Martyrs, also known as the Martyrs of Tonkin, (Vietnamese: Các Thánh Tử đạo Việt Nam), Andrew Dung-Lac and Companions (Anrê Dũng-Lạc và Các bạn tử đạo), or Martyrs of Indochina did not die in vain. The result was the millions of Vietnamese Christians who love G-d.

Brother Ron was blessed to see the result of the missionary’s and martyrs’ work surrounded by hundreds of Vietnamese Catholics who love G-d and miss their Brother, Hanh Do, who has gone to be with The Lord.

I now live in times when all Christians need to gather ourselves together, and put aside doctrinal differences to support each other and comfort one another as the day of our own death draws near.

For me, political and national boundaries are melting away giving way to my need to know who I am?  In addition, I need to know why I am here in this present dispensation.

I was encouraged by the memorial service and I am thankful that for whatever reason Hanh Do was put in my life and the opportunity to cross paths with him.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aloha my Brother…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Proverb of the week

 

Một câu nhịn chín câu lành.

Translation: Better a lean peace than a fat victory.

Quote of the week:

 

As far as abstinence from food is concerned, the divine Logos did not prohibit the eating of anything, but said:

‘See, even as I have given you the green herb I have given you all things; eat, asking no questions; it is not what goes

into the mouth that defiles a man’ (cf. Gen. 9:3; 1 Cor. 10:25; Matt. 15: 11). To abstain from food, then, should be a matter of our own choice and an ascetic labor.

Evagrios the Solitary

On Guarding the Intellect Twenty-Seven Texts

Voice of a outsider credits

Leave a Reply

