Newsletter 11/20/2014 Choice

Posted: 2014/11/20 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week

Ron Quxote

Voice of a outsider

Contents
1.  Choice : Written by Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week

Quote of the week

Story one
                                                 Choice

to act – no action

yes – no

on – off

open – closed

0 – 1 (Binary)

black – white

right – wrong

day – night

To act or not to act could mean living with abundant life in earth, or the expectation of poverty by our own choice.

In February 1818 – February 1895, a man, Frederick Douglas, once said, “I did not know I was a slave until I found out I could not do the things I wanted.”

“I lived more in one day than in a year of my slave life. It was a time of joyous excitement which words can but tamely describe.”

“I felt as one might feel upon escape from a den of hungry lions.”

“I would unite with anybody to do right and with nobody to do wrong.”

 

 

Frederick Douglas stood as a “living counter-example” to slaveholders’ arguments that slaves lacked the intellectual capacity to function as independent American citizens.

Why is Brother Ron writing about Frederick Douglas you might ask?

While on my monthly journey to Los Angeles Cathedral of Our Lady where I volunteer as a tour guide twice a month I stopped by an exhibit of the “Day of the Dead” near Olvera Street where I took this picture.

20141113_103407

I had a choice to go anywhere in Los Angeles I wanted.  My limitation was time and resources.

I started to reflect on my own life and choice. One of the gifts of G-d to humankind is choice.

However, I also have an imagination that leads me to desire things outside my own immediate realm of possibilities and I choose to chase dreams I cannot easily bring to reality.

My choice, combined with imagination is my biggest downfall.  I am heavily influence by my culture, other people, and external media such as books, movies, newspapers, ads, television, and radio.  It is hard to escape their influence.

I did not choose most of the influences in my life, they were there when I was born.

Choice has become almost a curse along with my imagination, because I dream up things such as living in a beach house, surfing every morning, practicing law and becoming a resource for the poor.

I have heard the knock at the door of my heart and chose to answer it. I have given my life to the divine nature. My choices are influenced by the ethical service and boundaries I have place on myself as per my understanding of my duty to those around me.

Having never been a physical slave and forced to do things against my will, unlike Fredrick Douglas who lived the life of a slave, it is impossible to know what that is like. However, I am a slave to sin and my imagination, I still act on the ideas suggested to me by my imagination and follow the suggestions by choice…

So is choice a curse or a blessing?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Proverb of the week: 

“Righteousness exalts a nation but sin is a reproach to any people.”

You don’t know what you don’t know.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

If you find yourself hating your fellow men and resist this hatred, and you see that it grows weak and

withdraws, do not rejoice in your heart; for this withdrawal is a trick of the evil spirits. They are preparing a

second attack worse than the first; they have left their troops behind the city and ordered them to remain there.

If you go out to attack them, they will flee before you in weakness. But if your heart is then elated because you

have driven them away, and you leave the city, some of them will attack you from the rear while the rest will

stand their ground in front of you; and your wretched soul will be caught between them with no means of

escape. The city is prayer. Resistance is rebuttal through Christ Jesus. The foundation is incensive power.

Evagrios the Solitary

On Guarding the Intellect Twenty-Seven Texts

Voice of a outsider credits

 

Leave a Reply

