Newsletter11/14/2014 Thankful

Posted: 2014/11/14 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week

wheelchair

Voice of a outsider

Contents
1.  Thankful : Written by Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week
Quote of the week

Story one
Thankful

Like overnight, I have come to the point in my life where I realize I have lived more days than I am going to live.  It seems like yesterday I was playing in the hose with my brothers and drying off on the hot summer cement.

RRiedell 003

My friends are getting sick with terminal diseases and dying.  Both of my parents are gone and I have come close to death myself several times.

wheelchair

I am thankful to be alive with the impaired quality of life I live with.  There isn’t a day that goes by when I am not thankful for my health and being alive.

This week I would like to show a few pictures, silently reflect, and pray for my friends.

usc medical

Proverb of the week:

She told me and then I discovered it for myself.

You don’t know what you don’t know.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quote of the week:

Our teacher Jesus Christ, out of pity for mankind and knowing the utter mercilessness of the demons, severely

commands us: ‘Be ready at every hour, for you do not know when the thief will come; do not let him come and

find you asleep’ (cf. Matt. 24:42-43). He also says: ‘Take heed, lest your hearts be overwhelmed with

debauchery and drunkenness and the cares of this life, and the hour come upon you unawares’ (cf. Luke 21:34).

Stand guard, then, over your heart and keep a watch on your senses; and if the remembrance of God dwells

peaceably within you, you will catch the thieves when they try to deprive you of it. When a man has an exact

knowledge about the nature of thoughts, he recognizes those which are about to enter and defile him, troubling

the intellect with distractions and making it lazy. Those who recognize these evil thoughts for what they are

remain undisturbed and continue in prayer to God.

Evagrios the Solitary

On Guarding the Intellect Twenty-Seven Texts

Voice of a outsider credits

Leave a Reply

