Newsletter 10/23/2014

Posted: 2014/10/24 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week

cross

Voice of a outsider

Contents
1.  Life of a Murder – Written by Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week
Quote of the week

Story one
Life of Murder

A friend asked me a profound question the other day.

How can someone who lived a life of murder, theft and crime, be saved in the last few moments of life and go to heaven?

Let me start by saying that this person would not have known about being saved, or even of the existence heaven, without someone telling him about being saved and heaven before I got the question.

There was a seed of witness that was planted in him prior to me.

What I believe he was referring to was the thief on the cross next to Jesus, and an inscription that was written over him in letters of Greek, and Latin, and Hebrew, THIS IS THE KING OF THE JEWS.

cross

One of the evil doers which were hanged with him was, saying it if you are the Christ, save yourself and us.  If you are the king of the Jews, save yourself.  (Obviously, he could read at least one of the languages)

In Luke 23:41 it says,  and we indeed justly; for we receive the due reward of our deeds: but this man hath done nothing amiss.  “But the other answering rebuked him, saying, dost not thou fear God, seeing thou art in the same condemnation?    And he said unto Jesus, Lord; remember me when thou come into thy kingdom (βασιλεία- royal power, kingship, dominion, and rule).   And Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, Today shalt thou be with me in paradise (παράδεισος- among the Persians a grand enclosure or preserve, hunting ground, park, shady and well watered, in which wild animals, were kept for the hunt; it was enclosed by walls and furnished with towers for the hunters.)

I cannot relive the past and redo what I have done or said, likewise I cannot go into the future to find what I believe will come.  The only reality that exists is here and now, as seen through my own eyes from my own perspective, as learned by the culture and experience I have lived through or that I have been conditioned by others to believe.

Remember there were three people hanging on crosses. One was condemning the other person hanging on the cross by his own guilt, but the other was prompted to belief in Jesus by what he read on the sign over the head of Jesus in that moment of time, who might have honestly been remorseful for what he had done.

I will not know what happened to the thieves or Jesus, but what I can know is: there is comfort in believing and through believing there is hope.  The one who believed that the kingdom of heaven was at hand had a change of heart that took him to the path that leads to the kingdom of God. The other condemned himself and had no hope of salvation. It was all in the mind, here and now.

Christ with Angels

The creation cannot know the creators mind; I at most can have the faith to believe that what I chose has positioned me in a state of mind of the creator.  That belief drives me to act as if I were on the path to the dominion of g-d’s containment. Because, it is being in the presence of G-d, that brings me to the eternal heaven in the here and now.  Moreover, the absence of G-d, and living in darkness, leaves a void in my containment here and now.

I must open my eyes and see that the kingdom of G-d is at hand,in the Eternal Here and Now! Heaven is in the visible (G-d’s containment) a place we cannot go yet.  I listen to my hearts knock, then I find and walk on the path. I must let go of others’ mistakes aimed towards me as God lets go of my mistakes.

Proverb of the week:

The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.

Quote of the week:

Do not hanker after fine foods and deceitful pleasures. For those that indulge in pleasure is dead while still alive’, as the Apostle says do not fill your belly with other people’s food in case you develop a, longing for it, and this longing makes you want to eat at their table. For it is said: ‘Do not be deceived by the filling of the belly’.

Evagrios the Solitary

Outline Teaching on Asceticism and Stillness in the Solitary Life

Voice of a outsider credits

Leave a Reply

