Newsletter 10/14/2014

Posted: 2014/10/16 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week

20141009_112450

Voice of a outsider

Contents
1.  Man’s inhumanity to man – Written by Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week
Quote of the week

Story one
Man’s Inhumanity to Man

Brother Ron witnessed something on the Metro this week that was unconscionable.

20140918_082559

I was headed to USC to see the newly renovated Caruso Catholic Center on campus.

20141009_112450

When I got on the train at 7th street, I sat across from a little old man probably about seventy-five to eighty years old.  He was clean but had long dreaded gray  hair. He was making odd sounds and looking down at the floor.  Half of his teeth were gone and he was wearing a black wool hat that looked like he had for some time.  I looked him in the eyes several times as he gave me a blank stare and looked down again.

I felt compassion for this man because he was there but not there. I  do not believe he was on drugs, but perhaps experienced such a miserable life that he had given up. Or, he might have had some type of mental impediment.

At the first stop, an obese woman on a motorized chair got on the train and barked an order directed at the old man to get up, pointed to the area where he was setting and motioned for him to get up.

The old man got up and moved to an area where people park their bicycles and got in the fetal position and started moving back and forth like he was afraid.

It was all I could do to keep quiet.  I got up from my seat and offered it to the old man but he just shook his head no.  Then I pointed down to the seat were I was sitting and waved my hand indicating that it was ok to sit there.

He got up and sat down next to me.

In case you do not know, people don’t like sitting by Brother Ron either.  I approached another seat next to a woman who was not going to move her purse until I asked her.  She saw the whole incident as well and was not going to let me sit next to her.

After the old guy sat down he was staring into space and making noises again.  The obese woman in the motorized chair was talking on her two cell phones and the  woman I was sitting next to started reading again.  It was as if nothing ever even happened.

I was so dismayed by what had happened to the old guy that I had to fight back tears.  If I had not seen it with my own eyes, I would not have believed it.  How one human could treat another human being, with no concern or compassion for anyone other than for themselves, is beyond my understanding.

I know this only scratches the surface of the world we live in, but most people at least attempt to be respectful of others while traveling to avoid trouble.

I could have done more but I am no better than anyone else. My agenda was more important to me.  So, I got off the train at my stop and most likely will never see any of those people again… except in my memories.

20140605_100636

Proverb of the week:

Those who don’t hear the music think the dancers mad.

Quote of the week:

True Wealth, True Poverty

Let us learn not to call the rich lucky nor the poor unfortunate.  Rather, if we are to tell the truth, the rich man is not the one who has collected many possessions but the one who needs few possessions; and the poor man is not the one who has no possessions but the one who has many desires.  We ought to consider this the definition of poverty and wealth.  So if you see someone greedy for many things, you should consider him the poorest of all, even if he has acquired everyone’s money.  If, on the other hand, you see someone with few needs, you should count him the richest of all, even if he has acquired nothing.

St. John Chrysostom

Homilies on the Parable of Lazarus and the Rich Man

Voice of a outsider credits

Leave a Reply

