Newsletter 09/16/2014

Posted: 2014/09/18 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week

Social-Media

Friend of the Church news Letter rev2 jpg

Contents

1.  Generation Y the so called, ‘Lost Generation’ aka, Millennial Generation- Ronald L. Riedell

  1. Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia- Ronald L. Riedell
  2.  Seeing is believing- applying gold leaf -Written by Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week

Quote of the week

Story one

Generation Y the so called, ‘Lost Generation’ aka, Millennial Generation

Social-Media

Brother Ron’s niece’s daughter is going to Berkley and is studying science. She is a brilliant young woman with enthusiasm and hope.  Recently she had her computer stolen.

Here is what she wrote on FaceBook:

“Today my backpack with my laptop and wallet was stolen on campus!  I want to share my experience so that other people can be reminded to be more aware of their belongings.  Though this was at UCB, it could really be any urban setting, and it can happen so quickly and so unexpectedly. I was sitting in the grass, listening to music in front of VSLB around noon. I was leaning on my backpack and had …”

moved forward to read my book and papers more closely. That moment was all it took for someone to grab my backpack. I made myself vulnerable by not paying attention and being distracted. Among all the families and other students around, someone was watching people looking for targets like me. Normally I am so careful (this was the first day of bringing my computer to campus). I made a police report and put holds on all my accounts and all, but I’m not expecting to see my things again….

Most of us have had similar situations happen to us.  What is so encouraging about this unfortunate event is in what happen afterwards.

It has been a little over a week since my backpack was stolen, and I just want to say that things have unexpectedly turned around for the better.  This is long so TL; DR: I will be able to get a new laptop sometime next week.

For those that don’t know yet, my incredible first year class surprised me with a thick envelope of cash with my name haphazardly drawn in all caps on the front (not suspicious at all, did not look anything like drug money) and a note written in purple ink (hehe, Aaron) saying that they had come together to pitch in money donation to help me buy a new laptop :’). Shockingly they raised $526!  I’m still in so much awe, and above all I am greatly warmed knowing that our class will be there for each other.  I think this is the kindest thing that has happened to me and I wanted to share because it was so uplifting.

And, I recently learned that my renter’s insurance covers this type of loss even though it wasn’t stolen from my home. I thought it was a long shot to call and ask because they don’t cover bike theft in this way. I filed a claim and it was accepted! The amount they are sending is more than the current market value of my old laptop (though of course there is the $500 deductible to consider). I really recommend State Farm, whose representatives went beyond to help me out (they gave extra $$ to purchase a new CD drive, since newer laptops don’t include one; these are details I wouldn’t consider myself).

Lastly, one more thing that really surprised me: my old apartment complex sent a check that apparently was related to a move-out refund.

Among all this support, I will be able to buy an excellent computer sometime next week that will last me through graduate school. :’) And it will be fiercely guarded. Thanks to all who helped me out.

This almost brought a tear to Brother Ron’s eye.  Knowing that there are still good people in the world; and that the “lost generation” is not so lost after all.

OK, maybe one tear…

th1HCPU99U

head shotj me likes2

Brother Ron 20140913

Who is one of the most influential men on the planet?  Thanks but it was not me.  LOL

Story two

Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia

Brother Ron had the opportunity to see arguably one of the most influential men on the planet;

20140911_174530

Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States. As the longest-serving justice currently on the Court, Justice Scalia is the Senior Associate Justice on the United States Supreme Court in the most powerful country on earth.  President Ronald Reagan appointed him to the Supreme Court in 1986.

Brother Ron overlooked the lecture on the Itinerary; sadly, I could not afford to listen to his talk anyway.  I have read his book, which was very informative.

I was able to get in after the lecture and take a few pictures.

bar scalia rev2

Justice Scalia is a regal man, standing a little taller than I had guessed. His presence demands respect. I took his picture while he was signing his book, which he gave to all who had attended.  Out of respect for Justice Scalia and the safety of his staff, I am not including those pictures.

I meet so many people and go places few ever go. It is hard for people that do not know me to believe the stories I tell.  When I tell people who I saw, they just smile until I show them the pictures.

I told one of Justice Scalia’s staff marshals that and he couldn’t help but crack a little smile.

G-d has blessed me and given me opportunities to be in places and see things that if you would have told me you saw, I myself would not believed.

The right person is going to read this and it will make a difference in their life, that is why I keep writing, believe it or not.

Seeing is Believing

Applying gold leaf

Story Three

Applying gold leaf

20140906_071842

Christ in the garden2

Gold leaf is very expensive, I use an imitation gold leaf on my Icons.

The term gold leafing or gilding covers a number of decorative techniques for applying fine gold leaf or powder to solid surfaces such as wood, stone, or metal to give a thin coating of gold.

Goldbeating, the technique of producing metal leaf, has been known for more than 5,000 years.

Much is made of the symbolic meaning of the colors used in icons. Gold can signify royalty, even divinity. The use of gold leaf is a means of expressing the glory and the splendor of God. It represents the uncreated light of Heaven itself. This is why the halos are placed on the icon using gold leaf. Gold was traditionally used both for its value, and because it can be burnished to a highly reflective surface. This then reflects light as though it was coming from within the figure itself.

There are many good internet sources for Gold Leafing techniques. If Brother Ron can gold leaf so can you. It is easy and the results are worth the effort.

Proverb of the week:

The trouble with most problem-solving books for parents is that they start with the idea that the child has a problem. Then they try to tell us how to fix the child.

Quote of the week:

Be attentive to yourself, so that nothing destructive can separate you from the love of God. Guard your heart,

and do not grow listless and say: ‘How shall I guard it, since I am a sinner?’ For when a man abandons his sins

and returns to God, his repentance regenerates him and renews him entirely.

St Isaiah the Solitary

On Guarding the Intellect

20140612 Page bottem

Comments
  1. Adrian Eichperger says:

    I don’t have much time to read anything but nursing material lately but, I have to say that I am glad I opened your email! Keep on writing!

Leave a Reply

