Newsletter 08/19/2014

Posted: 2014/08/19 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week
Robin_Williams_2011a_(2)

Friend of the Church news Letter rev2 jpg

Contents

1. Everyone is all in – Ronald L. Riedell
2. Seeing is beleving- Painting an Icon… -Written By Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week
Quote of the week

Story 1

Everyone is all in

We are all players in the game, and none of us got here because we wanted to be here. Being alone is a hell, our imagination tells us there is no g-d, and no one loves us, which is a lie. Your creator loves you and is within reach any time of the day or night. All I have to do is open my eyes and see that the kingdom of heaven is at hand.

Robin_Williams_2011a_(2)

Last week one of Brother Ron’s beloved comedians left the world. The media has inundated me with all kinds of information about how he left the world; all I know is that he is gone.

I am not privileged to have the information on what really happened to him because I am not a family member or agent of his. However, I enjoyed his acting and the presentation of the material he was given to present and he will be missed by me.

Robin_williams_uso

I have been disappointed and at times discouraged but never to the point of taking my own life. There is a reason for everything and I have learned to accept things as they present themselves.

My perception is that many people in the world have been asleep for years, almost in a drunken stupor of drugs and alcohol. When finally awakened, people do not realize they have been sleeping. The world has changed and they do not know how or why.

I have been so busy with living, cooking dinner, buying groceries, going to work, going to school, raising kids, and a thousand other things that it is easy to get lost in living.

Being awake I control little more than my own actions. For me to believe I can change someone else is a fallacy and a fiction of my imagination. Besides, how would I change them? Into my own image?

I have learned that accepting me for who I am, and forgiving myself for all my perceived shortcomings is the truth and the beginning of being born again.

I am literally born again every day, with the hope of not changing the world, but the hope of changing myself, and the way I perceive the world.

Story 2

Seeing is Believing
Choosing the right size.

Many thoughts go into choosing the right icon. For example, where you will hang it? Who besides you will see it. What size makes sense to you? You should not forget the purpose of an icon; an icon is a teaching tool and window into the soul. Icons invite you to contemplate spiritual things. They renew your spirit with thoughts of those who have gone before you. The colors and the images themselves, depending on how the icons were written, excite the viewer’s soul to prayer.

Then after you have decided on the right icon for you, the next step is to choose the size.

Depending on your budget, it can be a small image to place on the dresser in your bedroom. A medium size 8×11 to place in a prayer room to help you meditate on spiritual things, or a large icon to hang in a public area to teach the scripturally unlearned about events that happened in the bible. Some Churches have icons that cover an entire wall to help the congregation keep focused on liturgy.

20140806_223547

Presented here, the icon will be of an event in the bible where Jesus is in the garden after the Seder (The last Supper).

“Then cometh Jesus with them unto a place called Gethsemane, and saith unto the disciples, Sit ye here, while I go and pray yonder. And he took with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and began to be sorrowful and very heavy. Then saith he unto them, my soul is exceeding sorrowful, even unto death: tarry ye here, and watch with me. And he went a little further, and fell on his face, and prayed, saying, O my Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me: nevertheless not as I will, but as thou wilt.
And he cometh unto the disciples, and findeth them asleep, and saith unto Peter, What, could ye not watch with me one hour? Watch and pray that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.

Matthew 26:36-41
Christ in the garden2

No one wants to die, not even Christ. Anyone who knows about Seder knows that there are four cups of wine drank at Seder and a festive meal eaten. After the Seder our stomachs are full and some of us have a buzz on from the wine and a little beer drank with the festive meal. It is usually late at night when Seder is over.
As Disciples of Christ, most have good intentions and want to pray but because of the full belly, it is hard to stay awake to pray for even one hour.

This icon is one of Brother Ron’s favorites. It is simple with a powerful message.

Proverb of the week:
A man is not honest simply because he never had a chance to steal.

Quote of the week:
At the time of prayer, we should expel from our heart the provocation of each evil thought, rebutting it in a spirit of devotion so that we do not prove to be speaking to God with our lips, while pondering wicked thoughts in our heart.

St Isaiah the Solitary
On Guarding the Intellect

Comments
  1. Adrian Eichperger says:

    One of my favorite posts. Thank you

Leave a Reply

