Newsletter 07/31/2014

Posted: 2014/08/01 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week

Seeing is Believing

Friend of the Church news Letter rev2 jpg

Contents

1.Seeing is believing… – Written by Ronald L. Riedell
2.The Path …. Written By Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week

Quote of the week

Story 1

Seeing is believing

Seeing is Believing

There are three sections of Iconography I am going to attempt to write about. They are; the history of images in the church, the interpretation of Icons, and materials used by iconographers in our times and the past.

Brother Ron is a consecrated Icon writer, blessed by the Greek Orthodox Church. What that means is I took classes in Orthodox Iconography and after the completion of the classes an Orthodox Priest said a prayer over me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I say this for no other reason than to keep it real. I am unworthy and view myself as the least among the ones who came before me. My poor attempt to write an icon is intended to be my attempt to find G-d in my own way.

It is my prayer that the experience you gain here will enable you to dispel the mysteries associated with icons and establish an understanding of icons that will enhance your life here and now.

Story 2

While at the library

While at the library, I found a book for sale called, “The Path” the first addition in 1969 only had 5,000 copies printed in New Delhi. Subsequent editions produced 20,000 copies. In a world of 7.5 billion, few have read or even seen this book.

2014-07-31 08.01.37

There is a wealth of spiritual knowledge in this book. i.e… “The kingdom of God is within you.”
This world has never been a paradise; nor can it be one in the future. I am a worldly person that has sometimes forgotten the Lord and do not search for him within.

I think that I might find happiness in the enjoyment of my life. Therefore, I try to enjoy the pleasures of my senses by surfing, drinking beer, and entertaining lustful thoughts. I turn my attention to power in an attempt to find peace and pleasure.

However, it seems when I ask for happiness, pain moves in on me.

It took me literally years of research and study to discover some of the things that are written in this small book. Over the next few weeks, I would like to share parts of this book with you.

I will be sharing real everyday analogies from, “The Path” that will enhance your life.

Proverb of the week:

A wise man hears one word and understands two.

Quote of the week:

“I shall speak first about control of the stomach, the opposite to gluttony, and about how to fast and what and how much to eat. I shall say nothing on my own account, but only what I have received from the Holy Fathers. They have not given us only a single rule for fasting or a single standard and measure for eating, because not everyone has the same strength; age, illness or delicacy of body create differences. But they have given us all a single goal: to avoid over-eating and the filling of our bellies… A clear rule for self-control handed down by the Fathers is this: stop eating while still hungry and do not continue until you are satisfied.”
John Cassian
St. John died peacefully in 435

20140612 Page bottem

Leave a Reply

