Newsletter 07/25/2014

Posted: 2014/07/26 in Uncategorized

The picture of the week
Let there be light 2

Friend of the Church news Letter rev2 jpg

Contents

1.Starting in the beginning… – Written by Ronald L. Riedell
2.The Sting of Death …. Written By Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week

Quote of the week

Story 1

Starting in the beginning

It is through this image that enables me to tell the story of the creation.

Most importantly that I am not alone, I have a creator.

It was through creation that I came into existence and that breath in me is from the creator.

I may never fully understand how or why the creator made the heavens and the earth or why I was created or even why I am here. Just the knowledge that I am not alone is enough.

In the background of this image is a circle painted black showing the darkness displaced by the light.

The creator is hovering over the waters that have been separated from the land, holding a scroll in his hand that will be opened in the end times.

The light orb around the creators head indicates that he is the Alpha and Omega the first and the last.

This icon is the representation of the creation with many more words associated to it. Each color signifies something familiar to the viewer and helps the viewer gain entrance into the window of the spirit.

I can read the scriptures in Genesis and can clearly see the symbols in this image.

Let there be light 2

Story 2

The Sting of Death

death

As I grow older, I have come to realize that I have been living longer than I am going to live.

I am faced with my own mortality.

Most of my friends these days are in their late seventies early eighties.

Men and women, who have achieved material success, and are still well respected in their trades or professions: teachers, housewives, doctors, nurses, dentists, maintenance managers, lawyers, insurance investigators, police officers, military officers, financial advisors, painters, judges, factory workers, self employed and even a Hollywood actor.

Everyone has a story to tell, with one common end we all agree on: That we are all going to die.

It has been my experience that when you strip down to a swim suites and walk back and forth in five feet of water with only your head above water all the façades are left in the locker room and a transformation takes place.

Becoming like little kids in a park where there is no one who cares where someone lives, what race he or she is or where they worked, other than for a frame of reference to start conversations.

dryson pool

I am thankful to have experienced old age, so many do not get that opportunity.

All the pretenses and preconceived ideas seem to disappear in the water as we walk back and forth in the pool sharing our lives and ideas with each other.

In the pool I am in the moment just here and now, in eternity, being in the world but not part of it.

“Where, O death is your victory? Where, O death is your sting?”
The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

I am thankful for the comfort my friends have given me and the comfort I can give them, the knowledge of knowing that I share a common end with them drives the fear of death away.

When I finally do fall asleep for the last time on earth, it is my hope that I will wake up in a place that words cannot describe, not by myself, but in the company of perfect love.

Proverb of the week:

Those who marry for money earn it.

Quote of the week:

Fasts and vigils, the study of Scripture, renouncing possessions and everything worldly are not in themselves perfection, as we have said; they are its tools. For perfection is not to be found in them; it is acquired through them. It is useless, therefore, to boast of our fasting, vigils, poverty, and reading of Scripture when we have not achieved the love of God and our fellow men. Whoever has achieved love has God within himself and his intellect is always with God.

Source : St. John Cassian quoting Abba Moses in On the Holy Fathers of Sketis: (“Philokalia (Vol. 1)”, p. 96)

20140612 Page bottem

Leave a Reply

