Newsletter 07/08/2014

Posted: 2014/07/09 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Click Picture to enlarge

Contents

How I got started painting Icons – Written by Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week

Quote of the week

Friend of the Church news Letter rev2 jpg

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Over the next few weeks, G-d willing I am going to attempt to share with you my passion for art, especially my love for Icons, their symbolism, and their place in the Church and our homes.

I am a consecrated Icon writer, blessed by the Greek Orthodox Church. What that means is I took classes in Orthodox Iconography and after the completion of the classes an Orthodox Priest said a prayer over me.

I say this for no other reason than to keep it real. I am unworthy and view myself as the least among the ones who came before me. My poor attempt to write an icon is intended to be my attempt to find G-d in my own way.

Here is the prayer that was said over me by the priest:

Glory to Thee O God, Glory to Thee.

O Heavenly King, Comforter, Spirit of Truth, Who are everywhere present and fill all things, Treasury of Blessings and Giver of Life, come and abide in us, and cleanse us from every impurity, and save our souls, O Good One.

Holy God, Holy Mighty, Holy Immortal, have mercy on us.
Holy God, Holy Mighty, Holy Immortal, have mercy on us.
Holy God, Holy Mighty, Holy Immortal, have mercy on us.

Glory to the Father, to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

All-Holy Trinity, have mercy on us.Lord, cleanse us of our sins.Master, pardon our iniquities.Holy One, visit and heal our infirmities, for Thy Name’s sake.Lord have mercy, Lord have mercy, Lord have mercy.Glory to the Father, to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit,now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Our Father, Who art in Heaven, hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom come, Thy Will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. Amen.

O Divine Lord of all that exists, You have illuminated the Apostle and Evangelist Luke with Your Most Holy Spirit, thereby enabling him to represent the Most Holy Mother, the one who held You in her arms and said: The Grace of Him Who has been born of me is spread throughout the world.

Enlighten and direct our souls, our hearts, and our spirits. Guide the hands of your unworthy servant so that we may worthily and perfectly portray Your Icon, that of Your Holy Mother, and of all the saints, for the glory, joy, and adornment of Your Holy Church.

Forgive our sins and the sins of those who will venerate these icons, and who, standing devoutly before them, give homage to those they represent. Protect them from all evil and instruct them with good counsel.

This we ask through the prayers of the Most Holy Theotokos, the Apostle Luke, and all the saints, now and ever, and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Icons – are written, not painted. As the Bible is the written word of God, so too, the icons are written by the Holy Spirit through the hand of the iconographer.

The iconographer does not sign icons.

Icons are meant to transform us, bring us closer into communion with God. Icons are not written for the eye; they are written for the soul. They are not meant to be physical images of the saint, but are to be symbolic representations of the inner life of the saints.

Brother Ron does not live in a monastery; I live in the world along with all of you. I feel pain, I suffer loss, and I am thankful to be alive. I write icons because in doing so they bring me closer to G-d.

Gardian Angel

Proverb of the week
A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest —and poverty will come on you like a thief and scarcity like an armed man.

Quote of the week
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
Andrew Carnegie

20140612 Page bottem

Leave a Reply

