Newsletter 06/23/2014

Posted: 2014/06/24 in Uncategorized

Picture of the week
Michael walsch
Click Picture to enlarge

Contents

Who me, and the 22nd floor? – Written by Ronald L. Riedell

Proverb of the week

Quote of the week

Friend of the Church news Letter rev2 jpg
Click Picture to enlarge

Michael walsch

Brother Ron went to Las Vegas for an INFOCOMM 2014 show. The highlight of my trip was the Key Note speaker Mike Walsh, who wrote Futuretainment.

Mike was a very entertaining speaker; talking about his insights on technologies and consumer innovations. My take away from the keynote was that the future is going to be led by leaders who have used adaptive learning through algorithms and that the universal language of the future is Data.

We are now living in the mobile world of cell phones and the world wide web. The business engagement model is continually being updated by the next generation technology; not by innovators but by end users both online and offline, bringing the two worlds of online and offline together.

infcomm Alien
Click Picture to enlarge

While in Vegas, I was going back to my room late at night two women who in my opinion had too much to drink, about in their 30’s got on the elevator at the same time as me. Once inside the elevator, one of the women pushed the 22nd floor button, then asked me what floor I wanted, I said 23. Then she said, “Oh, you are on top of us”, and started to laugh. At that point, I was a little embarrassed and started to turn red. She asked me what I had in the box. I said,” Pizza” and opened the box to show them. Then she looked at my finger and seeing my ring said, “On darn, he is married, “then asked if she was here; I took that to mean my wife. (They both were beautiful, had brown eyes and nice smiles.)
I was placed in a situation by my own volition where temptation could have led me down the road to their room and to a situation; I would have regretted the rest of my life, for truly, what happens in Vegas, does not stay in Vegas!

I resisted the temptation of the girls, got off the elevator and went up to my room while wondering what had just happened.

I am an older man in my sixties and do not see myself as desirable. I have to confess my ego was a little puffed up by the attention. When I told my wife what happened she told me it was just a couple of girls looking for a little extra gambling money.

Whatever happened it was it was real and I was given a choice to follow my carnal desires, or turn from primordial, animalistic lust of the flesh and find my spiritual self who want to please G-d. Honestly, it was the fear of separation from G-d that kept me off the 22nd floor.

Proverb of the week

To receive the instruction of wisdom, justice, and judgment, and equity;
To give subtilty to the simple, to the young man knowledge and discretion. A wise man will hear, and will increase learning; and a man of understanding shall attain unto wise counsels:

Quote of the week

The right to be let alone is indeed the beginning of all freedom.
William Douglas

20140612 Page bottem

Leave a Reply

