Respecter of persons

Posted: 2013/07/26 in Uncategorized

0802120847a_2

Respecter

Someone or something that is influenced by the social standing, importance, power, or any deterrent put forth by persons or things (used chiefly in negative constructions): Death is no respecter of wealth.

Προσωπολήμπτης = one who discriminates

While driving up to the parking structure under one of the most popular high-rise building in Los Angeles where parking is expensive and limited to the privileged who lease space in the building, I smiled and waved hello to the parking attendant. He asked me where I was going and I told him that I was not sure. He helped me find where I was going and made a spot for me to park close to the elevators so I could easily get to them.

Other people who I worked with were told to park across the street.

When I got to where I was going, I smiled and said hello to the receptionist. I had to go to the bathroom, so she took her key and opened the bathroom for me.

Other people who I worked with were directed to the porta potties outside in the construction area.

When I reached my destination, I smiled and said hello to the property manager. He saw it was around lunchtime and offer to buy me lunch.

Why am I telling you this?

I have learned to treat everyone with respect ; no matter who they are, or what perceived value other people in society place on them. Why? Because I am learning who I am, trying to be myself. I am learning not to place self-importance on myself in order to gain the admiration of others. In truth, it really does not matter if others like me or not, as long as I like myself.

Being present is the key, happy to be me, where I am in the eternal here and now.

I can only judge others by my standards, according to my perceptions. I cannot change them, I can only change me. My beliefs and relationships are a direct result of where I am here and now. I have been shot at, stabbed, insulted, assaulted and have faced death several times. These remain to remind me that I am human.

It is through forgiveness and the realization of who I am that keeps me on the path to the divine nature. I try not to treat others any differently than I would want to be treated myself and when others fall short of treating me the way I believe I should be treated, I smile and continue to just be myself in the eternal here and now.

Leave a Reply

