Forgiveness

Posted: 2013/03/21 in Uncategorized

2013-03-18_13-08-08_237

Forgiveness

Brother Ron has breached his commitment to lent. I said I was going to give up drinking beer for the forty days of lent.

These last few days were spent in Las Vegas at a seminar. I was overcome with temptation and succumbed to my own desire to indulge.

I am remorseful and have continued my fast from beer again. Being human I have a propensity to my lustful desires; it was easy to disregard my commitment and drink my first beer.

The one I let down was myself; I am confessing my breach to prevent any scandal that may arise due to my hypocrisy. The one I must forgive is myself, be born again and restart my journey to the divine nature.

I hope my readers will forgive me as well and understand we are all in this together. One breach is no different than any other, the best we can do is to give ourselves forgiveness and continue on with our journey.

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    I forgive you. As long as we are all confessing, I watched TV on my ski trip.

  2. Here is what I told my friend Jimmy, “The problem is that there are no consequences, other then disappointment with my lack of discipline and lack of self control. God willing I will do better next year if I have the opportunity.”

    Lent is a time of reflection the traditional purpose of Lent is the preparation of the believer through prayer, penance, repentance, almsgiving, and self-denial. According to the Gospels of Matthew, Mark and Luke, Jesus fasted in the desert before the beginning of his public ministry, where he endured temptation by the Devil.

    I am not Jesus, but Jesus lead by example, an example that I unsuccessfully try to follow, as we say at Seder, not this year but maybe next.

    • jamie says:

      there is a danger in saying, “not this year, but maybe next.” it’s just like new year’s resolutions, most of them are broken in the first week of january, right? then the person who breaks them usually feels guilty and weak and says, “well, maybe next year.” then next year comes and the cycle repeats itself and we feel worse than before. we are all human; therefore, we are all sinners, myself included. Christ died for sinners, Christ died for me, for my sins. i fall into sin on a daily basis, oftentimes more than once a day. He died, in my place, so that when my time on earth has come to an end, i can live with Christ for eternity. so i sin, i fall. but with every amount of strength i can muster (and at times this is very, very difficult because i’m so ashamed of myself and i feel so unworthy of God’s mercy) i lift myself back up so as not to let my sin rob me of God’s precious gift: the salvation of my sins through Christ Jesus who died on the cross for me, so that i might live eternally with Him. observing the Lenten season, and undoubtedly sinning during the season by breaking my fast, reminds me of this and reinforces the reality that i am human, i am a sinner, but that Christ died to save sinners, among whom i am the first, and i will try to not let a day, an hour, a minute, a second go by where i will not strive to begin anew and complete my fast with God’s help.

      • Thank you for your comment, yes I Brother Ron am as you say you are a sinner as well. I do the things I should not because I am continually tempted by my own desires to do them, Meanwhile I try conform to what I believe is the will of God for me and my journey; walking on a path headed for the New Jerusalem.

Leave a Reply

