Journal entry 20100226

Posted: 2012/08/11 in Uncategorized

Journal entry 20100226

I am 56 years old at the time of this writing. Still after all this time on earth,” I know nothing at all”

“A wise man still has something to learn”

  1. There are 6.5 billion people who I share the earth with.
    • I know about 3000 of them by face.
    • Only about 2 or 3 hundred by name.
    • I am related to about 60 of them.
    • I have forgotten more faces than I know.
  2. There are an estimated 325 million books written in the world, about 500,000 law books in a major university Law School.
    • I can read about 200 pages a week, about 4 books a month, 48 books per year.
    • Over a 40 year period of a lifespan an estimated 2000 books.
    • I have forgotten most of what I have read so far.
  3. The earth is about 8000 miles in diameter and about 36,000 miles in circumference.
    • I could walk about 40 miles in a day when I was younger now I can walk about 10 on a good day. I could not walk the earth in my lifetime.
    • The highest mountain is only 5 miles high, and the deepest ocean is only 5 miles deep.

“Knowing these three things,  and I have come to the conclusion that I know nothing about the earth.”

Confucius said:

“To know what you know, and know what you don’t know, is the characteristic of one who knows.”

Comments

Leave a Reply

